VBS/Scary is a mass mailing worm written in VBScript language.
Based on the settings of your F-Secure security product, it will either move the file to the quarantine where it cannot spread or cause harm, or remove it.
A False Positive is when a file is incorrectly detected as harmful, usually because its code or behavior resembles known harmful programs. A False Positive will usually be fixed in a subsequent database update without any action needed on your part. If you wish, you may also:
Check for the latest database updates
First check if your F-Secure security program is using the latest detection database updates, then try scanning the file again.
Submit a sample
After checking, if you still believe the file is incorrectly detected, you can submit a sample of it for re-analysis.
NOTE If the file was moved to quarantine, you need to collect the file from quarantine before you can submit it.
Exclude a file from further scanning
If you are certain that the file is safe and want to continue using it, you can exclude it from further scanning by the F-Secure security product.
Note You need administrative rights to change the settings.
The worm arrives in email messages with the following characteristics:
Subject: The Secret of Life Body: Attachment: Secret.htm
When the attachment is opened, the worm executes. First the worm resizes the browser window to cover the full screen.
Then it sends itself to all recipients in each Outlook address book and copies itself to the Windows startup directory. The worm modifies the attributes of the copied file ("Secret.htm") so that the file will be marked as a hidden and read-only.
Next the worm will show message boxes claiming that it deletes all directories of all drives. Instead of deletion, the worm creates twenty files with "tmp" extension to the root of each drive.
Finally it shows the following message boxes:
So how did you feel being dishonored in public?
So did you learn your lesson?
If the user selects the "Yes" button, the file from the startup directory will be deleted and several message boxes will be shown.
If the user selects the "No" button, the file in the startup directory will not be deleted causing that the worm will be executed again when the system is restarted.