Most Recent News from the Lab
 

Tuesday, February 9, 2010

 
Black Hawk Down Posted by Sarah @ 03:59 GMT | Comments

Kudos to the Chinese authorities for shutting down an online hacker training operation known as the Black Hawk Safety Net.

The Black Hawk operation, which provides Trojan software and lessons in cyberattack techniques, comprises 12,000 paid subscribers and another 120,000 free members.

Three people who run the Black Hawk’s website have been arrested, and the site has now been blocked from access. The police also seized nine servers, five computers and a car during the raid.

For further details, you can read it at Yahoo! News.

 
 

 
 
Monday, February 8, 2010

 
Watch out for flower-show.org Posted by Mikko @ 14:54 GMT | Comments

We saw a pretty PDF file today (md5: 116d92f036f68d325068f3c7bbf1d535).

It looks like this:

flower-show.org

Nice flowers.

Unfortunately, when viewing the file, it uses an exploit against Adobe Reader and drops and runs a file called 1.exe.

This executable is a Poison Ivy backdoor. It calls home to a host called cecon.flower-show.org. Whoever controls the computer at that address gains remote access to the target computer. The PDF was used in a targeted espionage attack against an unknown target.

We've seen the domain flower-show.org before, already in 2009. Then another PDF called home to posere.flower-show.org.

flower-show.org

Today, both of those host names resolve to 202.150.213.12, which is not in China. It's in Singapore.

 
 

 
 
worldrofwarcraft.com Posted by Mikko @ 13:21 GMT | Comments

warcraft

The World of Warcraft online game has over 10 million players around the world.

World of Warcraft also has hundreds of phishing websites targeting it, trying to steal end-user login credentials.

Like these:

wow

The domain names for most of these phishing sites are easy to spot (wor1dcfwarcraft.com? give me a break), but others are a bit trickier (worldrofwarcraft.com - yes, there's an extra "R").

So, why are these accounts being stolen? For fun? No, they are stolen for the virtual gold and weapons. A stolen account gets emptied quickly and the goods are put for sale for real money online.

But who would buy virtual goods for a game with real cash? Well, based on the amount of sellers, quite a few.

wow gold

 
 

 
 
Gmail Phish Posted by Alia @ 01:40 GMT | Comments

Just a quick note to readers to be aware of e-mails purportedly from Gmail administrators. One of our Fellows recently received a message from "The Google Mail Team" asking users to verify their account details to combat "anonymous registration of accounts":

gmail_phishing

The reply-to address is listed as 'verifyscecssze@gmail.com', which obviously isn't an official Gmail admin account. Meanwhile, the domain name gmeadmailcenter.com is registered to a Catholic church in Michigan.

Just your typical phishing type message really. Gmail users who receive this e-mail can report it to the (real) Gmail team using the 'Report phishing' option in their account, or just delete it.



 
 

 
 
Friday, February 5, 2010

 
New Facebook Home Page, Important New Privacy Setting Posted by Sean @ 13:42 GMT | Comments

Facebook started rolling out a new home page and navigation menus earlier today.

And whenever Facebook adds new features, in this case the Applications and Games dashboards, there's usually a new privacy setting as well.

This is what part of the new Applications dashboard looks like.

Facebook Application Privacy

All Facebook has raised some privacy concerns regarding the dashboard's output.

Do you really want all of your "friends" to know what applications you've been running?

You don't?

Then you'll want to take a look at the new control provided by Facebook.

Here's the old Applications and Websites settings page.

Facebook Application Privacy

Here are the new settings.

Facebook Application Privacy

The new privacy option allows you to "Control who can see your activity in the Friends' Recent Activity, Friends' Applications and Friends' Games sections of these pages."

Facebook Application Privacy

The control options should be familiar enough at this point. Sharing can be set to Only Friends, Friends of Friends and Everyone.

Of course, utilizing Friends Lists can limit access in a more refined manner.

Facebook Application Privacy







 
 

 
 
Microsoft Updates and Vulnerabilities Posted by Response @ 12:57 GMT | Comments

Updates

February 9th will bring numerous Microsoft Updates, 13 bulletins addressing 26 vulnerabilities.

All versions of Windows are affected.

Microsoft, February 2010

Looks like a busy Tuesday is ahead.

See Microsoft's Security Bulletin Advance Notification for February 2010 for additional details.

Vulnerability

There's also a notable Internet Explorer vulnerability that's been published with Security Advisory (980088).

Ars Technica puts it this way: Microsoft warns of IE flaw, turns PC into public file server. That doesn't sound very good, does it?

Microsoft Support has a Fix it for me tool available.

 
 

 
 
Thursday, February 4, 2010

 
Using Google Images to Investigate Fraud Posted by Sean @ 14:48 GMT | Comments

Sami, one of our test engineers, was recently seeking a Play Station 3.

He found this offer at Huuto.net, a Finnish auction site.

PS3 Auction

160€ for a 60GB unit, with games, not bad.

Sami wanted to confirm that the seller was legit, so he requested a picture, and received this.

PS3 Auction

When he examined the image properties, he discovered that the picture was taken in 2008.

PS3 Auction

Next, he performed a Google Image search using the size option. Smart.

PS3 Auction

He managed to find the image online, located within a Finnish forum thread from 2008.

PS3 Auction

That seemed kind of suspicious, so he suggested that the seller provide another picture, with the PS3 alongside a current newspaper.

The deal fell through, of course, when the seller refused. Not such a clever fraudster, eh?

He seems to have forgotten how easily things can be found on the Internet using the right tools.

Kudos to Sami for documenting his investigation and for filing a report with the police.

 
 

 
 
Wednesday, February 3, 2010

 
An Apple a Day Posted by Sean @ 14:46 GMT | Comments

We were recently asked some questions about Mac security. Mikko's comments can be read at CNET.

Also in Apple news, iPhone/iPod touch OS 3.1.3 has been released and there are security fixes.

(Not that it's mentioned during the update.)

And speaking of iPhones, they're vulnerable to remote attack on SSL.

Updated to add: Here's another interesting iPhone/iPod touch related story at the Register.

Dan Goodin: The Elcomsoft iPhone Password Breaker, which was released for free into beta, recovers passwords for iPhones and iPod Touches by trying thousands of phrases per second.

 
 

 
 
Saturday, January 30, 2010

 
Texaco Offers You a Job For £8500 a Month Posted by Mikko @ 17:04 GMT | Comments

Online criminals need people to move their money so they themselves don't get caught. We call these Money Mules.

Most money mules recruitment is done in the name of a fictitious company, but sometimes the scammers simply lift a well-known brand.

Here's an example of a recent money-mule ad that has been spammed around in the name of Texaco, the oil company:

Texaco

The e-mail originated from an IP address in Lagos, Nigeria. I guess Texaco must be doing some drilling over there.

The PDF contains no exploits and looks like this:

Texaco

The text reads, in part:


  Texaco/Chevron Downstream Europe
  1 Westferry Circus Canary Wharf
  London E14 4HA

Dear Job Candidate,

The TEXACO Online Employment System wish to inform you that your posted
information onlinehas been carefully and confidentially reviewed by our
Recruitment Team Professionals and we have considered under our current
vacant opportunities within the Firm to employ you for work in our company.

TEXACO Online Employment System is affiliated to various job recruitment
websites and your information was submitted to us by our online agent that
submit job candidate resumes for consideration of employment depending on
the vacancies we have in any branch of TEXACO Company Worldwide.

As regards to this, you have been automatically granted this employment to
work in TEXACO Oil & Gas Field with a monthly salary of Eight Thousand
Five Hundred Pounds (£8,500).


Kindly acknowledge the content of this message by reconfirming your interest
in working for us and indicating your area of job interest, ensuring that you
have quoted your vacancy title below or send your CV with a covering letter.

For further details relating to your employment, kindly send an email to
Texaco/Chevron Downstream Europe H/R Recruitment Service Department
texaco@post.com / http://texaco.us.ms / http://texaco.com/portal_default.asp/.

  Regards,
  Paul Matins
  HR Recruitment Manager


Do note the suspicious contact information like texaco@post.com and http://texaco.us.ms. Top-level domain .ms belongs to a small Caribbean nation called Montserrat.

The website at texaco.us.ms looks like this:

Texaco

Don't apply… although the salary looks good and you get to name your own area of job interest, I'm sure your job would include picking up cash and wiring it to far-away places with Webmoney, Western Union and Fethard Finance.
 
 

 
 
Friday, January 29, 2010

 
Twittering Widgets Posted by Sean @ 16:04 GMT | Comments

I've been playing with Twitter's Goodies this afternoon. The Profile Widget is pretty cool.

Here's Mikko's tweets:


It's JavaScript, click here if you're reading from an RSS feed.

Signing off,
Sean