F-Secure: Be Sure
Main
F-Secure Logo - Be Sure
Select local site


Privacy Policy
Legal Notices
Contact Us

Hoax Warnings

 Alphabetical Index
NAME:Halloween Greetings Post Card hoax

The below message is a hoax:

 This morning while checking my mail I came upon an e-mail that
 said "A Friend Has Sent You An Online post Card".  It was from
 HalloweenGreets@egreetings.net. When I opened it it had a link
 and a confirmation number. I clicked on the link and it took me
 to page with about 10 advertisement banners for Dating Services
 online. I tried to close out of it and it came back up on my
 screen without a button to let me close. I had to
 Ctrl-Alt-Delete to close it and found in my end task screen that
 there were about 100 of the pages open. I had to shut down my
 computer and when I tried to get back online I found that
 someone was on my name. Just a warning, don't open this if it's
 in your mail box.

We haven't seen any message/greeting card like that and found no webpages that could steal user names and passwords on the fly. Please ignore this hoax and don't pass it on